Virginia drug laws and penalties

Unlawful drug possession in Virginia is actually carrying severe penalties and can have disastrous results, even though for the people who commit the crime for the first time. You can be charged with the drug crime if you are involved in taking marijuana or even distributing the drugs locally, or in youngsters who are under the age of 18.

The involvement in such cases can land you in the world of jail, and you can also get a prominent criminal record in your legal documents as well. Though, when you get a criminal record in your legal documents, then the chances are you might never get an official job as well as you may stay in a struggle condition just because you have a criminal record.

So, it’s better to hire a lawyer in a manner to solve the case because the lawyer knows how to deal with criminal charges like drug crime in Virginia. Therefore, do an interview with the lawyer and tell him all your difficulties and problems regarding the case and your situation.

The lawyer will instantly find out the solutions for you and further ready a better case to present in the court. A professional drug crime lawyer can also provide you benefits in many conditions. You can also protect your future and your present career as well.

drug crime charges and penalties

Schedule I drugs are recognized to be the common addictive and dangerous and even not been acceptable in for medical as well. The charges of this schedule include taking heroin, LSD, and Ecstasy. The penalty of the schedule is several years imprisonment with a fine of $2,500.

Schedule II drugs this one includes morphine, hydrocodone, codeine, opium, methadone, and oxycodone. The penalty would be 10 years imprisoned with a fine of $2,500.

Schedule III drugs this one include drugs like Vicodin, Codeine with Tylenol, and steroids. The penalty would be 12 months imprisoned with a fine of $2,500.

Schedule IV drugs this one include Valium, Xanax, and Ativan. The penalty would stay in prison for up to six months with a fine of $1000.

Schedule V drugs the penalty for this one is a fine of up to $500.

Schedule VI drugs the penalty for this one is a fine of $250.

a defense lawyer for drug crimes in VA

Hire a lawyer is the most and major step from you if you are convicted by the drug crime in Virginia. As in Virginia, there are a lot more lawyers who are professional and experienced enough to provide you in better solutions and solve the case further.

So, always make sure to hire a lawyer who is expert enough to provide you better pieces of advice related to the case and can further provide you protection as well.

A lawyer can be found in every state of Virginia, just ask an appointment and let your case in the lawyer’s hands.