In the concern of public health and protection, the Commonwealth of Virginia founded the Drug Control Act to control unauthorized drugs and other possibly hazardous controlled substances. In an interest to different drug-related devices, this act organizes the Virginia outline of a controlled substance. However, the Drug Control Act even also distributes controlled substances within separate plans.
Although, the Drug Control Act represents a controlled substance as every drug or comparable compound with several critical features. In law to fit as a controlled substance, the further drug must arrive on 1 of the approved schedules.
The Drug Control Act particularly eliminates alcohol and nicotine as well as pesticides and different agricultural toxins. All of the substances are controlled to distribute laws in Virginia.
penalties of controlled substances in VA
Punishments for degradation of the federal Controlled Substances Act are based entirely on the program of the drug required, the amount owed, and whether dealing or intent to spread a drug is started in a violation. Federal punishments for simple ownership of an unlawful drug may involve a penalty of at least $1,000 fine along with the imprisonment for up to almost one year.
However, for the schedules of I-IV range of controlled substances, the Federal punishments for a first offense is about imprisonment for up to five years, not more than that along with a fine of $2,500. Sometimes, the fines will be increased according to the crime and its strength.
Although, for the V schedule controlled substance, the Federal penalties for those who are a first time criminal, they should have to stay in prison for up to a year with a fine of $100,000.
Though, if you are involved with such crimes, then you might be going through with such penalties as well:
Possession of drug, you might be going through imprisonment for up to 20 days along with a fine of $500.
For secondary or subsequent destruction – you will get a penalty of up to one year in prison along with a fine $2,500.
Possession of cannabis with an intention to further sell or spread, or dispersion, you will be suffering for one year stay in jail along with a fine of $2,500.
If the ounces of drug you carry is up to the 5 pounds, then you might be staying in prison for up to 10 years along with a fine of $2,500.
If the ounces are more than 5 pounds, then you might be suffering from 30 years imprisonment along with a fine of $2,500.
If you are above the age of 18 and involved in selling drugs, then you might be get suffering from the stay in jail of up to 50 years along with a fine of $100,000.
A defense lawyer in VA
In such cases where you find yourself being arrested with any wrong or falsely allegations, you need to hire a lawyer for further inquiry or in solving the case as well.
The lawyer might be your only hope to win the case and release your name in the criminal records as well.